Borel takes aim at a racing first


Jockey Calvin Borel will look to make some more history when he rides Super Saver in the Preakness Stakes on Saturday. Already only one of only nine jockeys to win the Kentucky Derby three times, and the only one to win it three times in a four-year span, Borel could become the first jockey to ever win back-to-back editions of both the Kentucky Derby and the Preakness Stakes.

Of the jockeys other than Borel who won back-to-back runnings of the Kentucky Derby — Isaac Murphy (1890 and 1891), Jimmy Winkfield (1901 and 1902), Ron Turcotte (1972 and 1973) and Eddie Delahoussaye (1982 and 1983) — none of them doubled up with the Preakness in both of those years, although Turcotte did win the 1973 Preakness with Secretariat on the way to the Triple Crown.

Borel, who won last year’s Run for the Roses on 50-1 shot Mine That Bird and followed by capturing the second jewel of the Triple Crown with Rachel Alexandra, is on the verge of accomplishing something no other jockey has ever done.

The other jockeys who have won the Kentucky Derby at least three times — Eddie Arcaro, Bill Hartack, Bill Shoemaker, Murphy, Earl Sande, Angel Cordero, Jr., Gary Stevens and Kent Desormeaux — are all in the Hall of Fame.


Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s